Dooley's

Stock Photo FLOP

In Uncategorized on April 1, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Pictures are everywhere. The latest Facebook stats show that users upload an average of 100 million photos EACH day. Lots of trends point to this number rising even higher, but this post isn’t about that. It’s about using the right photos to represent your brand or campaign. I’ll show you a quick example of what to avoid.

There’s this one image that seems to be popping up everywhere. Driving home from work everyday, I see this billboard…

Cute couple, right? I just want to run to the jeweler now just so I can be them. You might think there’s absolutely nothing wrong with the photo. I thought the same, until I saw this…

See them? Don’t get me wrong, I love Animoto – it’s a great tool for creating a glorified slideshow of movies and pictures. But, they have so many clients that upload their own (real) photos and videos that they should use those instead of paying $0.85 for a stock photo. They’re losing the opportunity to be authentic. And it probably goes unnoticed, until now.

I know I’ve seen this picture in at least one other spot – I wish I could remember where, but I’ll post when I do. *** Update – found it on gofundme.com! ***

After noticing this image in so many places, I went to iStockphoto, did a quick and simple search for “wedding” and look…

There they are again! So, not only was it cheap to use this photo, but also effortless. Come on now. In a world of transparency, consumer expectations are pretty high. Of course, this kind of stuff may not matter to the average person, but it matters to me. Flop.

Until the next episode.

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed herein do not necessarily represent those of my employer nor any other organization I am affiliated with. Also, please see the “About” page in case you are offended or even mildly irritated. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

