Dooley's

Facebook Flops (Part 1)

In Uncategorized on February 17, 2011 at 8:52 pm

I bet you thought this day would never come – for someone who spends most of his life on Facebook (not all vicariously), I should certainly have some examples of people and companies using the social network in unreasonably awkward ways. In fact, I do. Too many for just one post, so you’ll have to stay tuned. Almost all of the gaffes are because people forget that suitable offline behavior should translate onto Facebook. I’ll entice with some of my biggest pet peeves.

#1 Not allowing comments or replies

This is becoming less and less of an issue, but I am continually shocked as I hear companies who nervously join Facebook only to completely put a hand up in everyone’s face(book). This monologue is meant for traditional communication avenues, such as TV, radio, print and billboards. Use the opportunity to invite, listen and respond. Otherwise, you’re just wasting your time because the Facebook community is eager to engage, not be talked at.

#2 Syndicating messaging across platforms (especially when it’s automatic)

In case you’re unfamiliar, plenty of users – who I hope are reading this post – will publish a message across platforms. While this makes it very easy for them to stay active across multiple social profiles, it can really drive your audience crazy. The perfect example is when a Tweet comes through my Facebook newsfeed full of symbols like @ and #, as well as shorthand notation that only the person they were supposed to be talking with would maybe understand. I liken this to going into Dunkin Donuts and ordering a grande triple non-fat soy caramel latte. I don’t even know if that’s a real drink, but you get my point – they. will. not. understand. you. At the very least, it will irk them. Yeah, I just said irk.

#3 @ spamming

Using the @ symbol on Facebook is a nice feature because you can make a post to your friends’ news feeds as well as to the wall of whoever you’re tagging (yes, and to the news feeds of any mutual friends…sheesh). But, I loathe being tagged in a post or a photo just to get my attention. I mean, I’m sure it’s much worse when you’re a semi-celebrity, but I get it enough that it’s pretty obnoxious. I think things will get worse as people – under the mask of pages – start crawling outside of their own fan pages and interacting with other pages and public profiles. Eek.

More

OK, so I have four more (at least), but this post is getting a bit too long. Subscribe to my blog if you are learning or at least amused.

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed herein do not necessarily represent those of my employer nor any other organization I am affiliated with. Also, please see the “About” page in case you are offended or even mildly irritated. Thanks!

lop

  1. […] know what they say – there’s more where that came from. Following up on my last post about people and organizations using The Social Network in awkward ways, here’s the latest […]

Leave a Reply

